Bay Area, Tech and Computers

the golden gate bridge with green hills in foreground
Golden Gate Bridge

What a great backdrop to learn something in the area of tech. I have embraced it wholeheartedly for the first time since I realized my love of everything computer. I recently went back to school to learn how to design websites. I started online schooling at the end of 2012 and so far I’ve been pleasantly surprised. When I started my search, I was astonished at how many  classes are offered on the web these days. Even major universities are offering free classes online. You can watch or listen to professors as they lecture, or get assigned a class exercise. To me, this is just amazing!

As for computers, they have been a passion of mine since 1986 when I took a college course in Macintosh operations. I am always puttering around, seeing what I can accomplish on the computer, what can I create, what are the limits, are there any limits. Right now I am really just stretching my legs and seeing what happens. As for web design, I started creating a temporary version of a website that I already designed and built last year here in WordPress. I really like what I have created thus far, but you wont see the results till my client gives the go ahead to update the site. You can check out my first attempt at web design at http://www.built2rock.com. I designed it for Jeff and Kim Summers of Built 2 Rock Design. Whether or not my design abilities are any good, Built 2 Rock creates some very original art work. I’m not talking paintings on the wall, though I love paintings, don’t get me wrong. But they have a coffee table made with a mini flying V guitar. They also have a lamp made out of a drum, drum sticks, and a hi-hat. It’s not like anything I’ve ever seen.

Now I am a student again and it’s a little bit intimidating. I haven’t been in school since “87” and I am just a little rusty. Online schooling is a bit dangerous for me, as there is no teacher keeping me on track and on schedule. As a father and husband it’s not always easy to stay focused a computer screen for more than a couple of hours without some form of distraction. If you have kids, I am sure you know what I am talking about. You may have guessed that I am no young pup and this is not the field people my age are typically working in. If you check out YouTube, you can find 13 year olds giving a lecture on how to become certified as a computer technician. Or see them tearing apart computers and putting them back together. Talk about intimidation. But I am not discouraged and moving ahead. I enjoy the challenge of learning something new and God willing, I will finally be working in the field I have had a passion for these many years.

Leave a Reply

